Jocktober

So, I realize I’ve made fitness manifestos before, and fallen short, but after a poor showing in the last couple of months I’m eager to get back into my groove.

I’ve rediscovered my love of running and over the last fortnight or so I’ve managed to stick to running roughly every other day. I’m not going to lie, they’ve been pretty tough runs. Usually by the last 10 minutes I’m feeling pretty drained and the end is a relief, but I’m bouncing back quickly and usually by the time I walk through the front door I’m almost back to normal, just a bit thirstier and stinkier than normal.

The thirst thing is the worst, I’m definitely going to have to get a proper running bottle or one of those pack things, especially if I intend to push past the hour mark.

The only consolation is the satisfaction at the end and the fact that in each of my last 6 runs I’ve got above what my best was back in August and I’ve been averaging around the 8.7k mark, which I’m pretty chuffed about. I’m hoping that another 2 weeks of hour long runs will make them feel a bit easier and hopefully mean I’m ready to go to 65 minutes then, if not I’ll start the 65 min runs in November.

I’ve also decided that to help with the weight loss and general fitness I’m going to start going to the gym more often.

About the gym, I guess its confession time- I haven’t been for ages. I feel pretty bad and would feel worse if this meant I was losing money, but as I didn’t set up a standing order so its just been a massive embarrassment.

One of my coworkers asks me from time to time and I fob her off with some vague statement and change the subject, the thing is I really do want to go more. I’m going to rejoin and set up a standing order, which will push me to try and get my money’s worth. I always feel a little self conscious there but I can get past that, just as I’m no longer quite as neurotic when running as I used to be. I think it’ll help if I keep this in mind:

So my plan is to really go for it in the next month. I’m going to try and hit 15 runs, which works out as around 1 every 2 days and try and sort the gym out tomorrow, and try to go there at least twice a week. I’m also going to start doing some weight training while I’m there so I can shift my bingo wings.

I’m feeling pretty excited and confident about this, the fact my recent runs have all been quite good helps and I’m really keen to make up for Lazy Chris’ reign of terror and get back on track. I’m going to try and eat healthier too, and completely abstain from chocolate and desserts, because I’ve been backsliding towards my fat bastard ways of late. Yep, its gonna be lots of fruit, veg and salad over the next 31 days.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

One thought on “Jocktober

Leave a comment