Been there, done that?

I was in Swansea today and walking through the Quadrant I saw someone wearing what may be one of the stupidest t-shirts of all time.

Now, there are many stupid t-shirts. There are ones with offensive, witless jokes on:

This shirt got Topman into problem, and reinforced my opinion of Topman as the domain of twats.

There are those that are printed too early and show painful hubris on behalf of the makers:

Unfortunately the Scots put this shirt up on their website before their match with England. That they then lost.

But today I saw a bloke wearing a t-shirt that featured b-list celebrity Amy Childs.

Amy Childs. Also including this picture is me doing my part for National Cleavage Day.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against Miss Childs, in fact she has a certain, trashy charm, although I must admit that while I initially found her quite sweet and endearing on The Only Way Is Essex it has diminished the longer she has been in the limelight.

I can see why you’d wear a t-shirt expressing your devotion to a rock band (I have KISS, Bowie and Def Leppard shirts) or a sports team, or even an iconic figure like Bob Marley, Jimi Hendrix or even, cliche of cliches, Che Guevara (I own one of these shirts, having bought it by mistake, and I don’t regret it as I quite like the fella based on his book The Motorcycle Diaries, politically I may not agree with him, but I can still like the idealistic, hard-drinking doctor who hit the roads on the back of a bike).

But Amy Childs? Really?

Other than introducing the public to the bizarre practise of “vajazzle”, what has Childs done?

She’s a reality TV star. Its the easiest, and laziest way to become famous. There is no achievment or skill in what she, or her ilk, have done to get their fame.

It wasn’t even a particularly good photo, just one of her staring out, grinning inanely.

The T-shirt in question

Why get her on a t-shirt?

Unless this is a new initiative to clearly mark out idiots. Hmm, I suppose its more humane than branding/tattooing them on the forehead.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO

Leave a comment