Mother Knows Best (Sometimes)

Prompt: Three things you learnt from your mother.

I felt this was an appropriate topic for Mothering Sunday.

1. The Value of Winning

When I was a kid my Mum taught me how to play chess, and proceeded to kick my arse in game after game. Finally, years later I got my first win against her and the intense satisfaction I got from that victory was amazing.

image

My favourite chess set

The same thing happened with Scrabble, and I still savour my infrequent victories over her.

I think some folks let their kids win, but my Mum was having none of that, and while it was frustrating, I can see that it’s better that way. It made me work harder and keep going. It meant that I learnt and developed, and it made eventual victory all the sweeter.

I think my Mum probably took it easy on us at first, but she never let us win just so we’d feel good. Because that brief elation didn’t come close to what we got from losing a few times.

I think that’s why she did it, or maybe she just hates losing?

2. How Relationships Work

My Mum and Dad have been married for 35 years. That’s a long time, especially as my Dad has probably been telling the same jokes for all that time, so kudos well done to my Mum for putting up with that.

I think my parents’ relationship helped give my sisters and me a good idea of how relationships should work. That it isn’t always going to be sunshine and rainbows, and that you won’t always agree. But despite bickering, bad habits and 35 years of Welsh-English matches they’ve seen it through.

It’s shown that expecting romance all the time is foolish and that marriage takes some work, but that it’s important to communicate, cut each other some slack and be patient. All lessons I hope to follow in my future with MWF.

While they do stuff together, they also have separate interests and are still individuals, and I think that’s important too.

3. Kindness

Mum is one of the kindest people I know, she’s the kind of person who goes out of her way to help others and spends a lot of her time rushing about to help or visit older people in the community.

As a kid she taught me about seeing things from other people’s perspective, not being mean and respect. She stamped out anything bad or nasty we thought as kids and took the time to explain why things were wrong or what needed to change. Mum made sure we understood things and taught us to be compassionate to others, and to do our best to avoid harming someone else.

I may not always succeed but it’s because of her example that I try to be as nice as possible. I’m nowhere near as good as she is, but she gave me something to aim for.

Other things my Mum taught me:
* Pedantry- I still get annoyed by minor grammar mistakes.
* Love of Wales- While never being blind to its faults.
* Love of nature.
* Sarcasm.
* That Christopher Lee is awesome.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

