2015

It’s been a pretty good year for me. Sure, there were some bumps along the way (extended unemployment, financial hassles, having to sit through Into the Woods) but for the most part 2015 was pretty good.

My resolutions didn’t go that well, but I feel like I did alright. I tried a few new things, tried my best to be nicer and was more sociable. The ones about losing weight and managing money better bit the dust.

After trying to go back to support working and realising that I just couldn’t do it again, I did fall into a bit of a funk. It was a rough time as I worried about my future and my next move. I’m generally positive or adopt a “Que Sera, Sera” approach, but I have had these low points a few times when I just worry that I’m destined to a life of failure and mediocrity. The worst came as a university student, but I’ve had smaller events since, where I lose hope and struggle to motivate myself.

Luckily I had support from my family at this point and MWF, who has been my rock throughout the year.

Things turned around at June and it’s been pretty positive since then. I got a new job, and while it’s rather repetitive and dull, it pays the bills. I’ve been there six months and will continue there for the foreseeable as I debate my options.

In August, I asked MWF to marry me and she said yes (more), which was easily the high point of my year. Since then I’ve been touched by the warmth and helpfulness of friends and family as they’ve offered congratulations and offered to help out in a variety of ways. Their support and enthusiasm has been lovely.

image

MWF and I planned a two year engagement, but have already started planning and setting stuff up. It’s been going well and there have only been a few minor irritations, mostly stemming from people thinking that stuff needs to be a certain way.

The problem is that people seem to have strong opinions on what a wedding should be like. There are traditions that some folk seem to hold sacred which others see as daft or needless.

Different people put different importance on things and how it should be done. MWF and I seem to be on the same page regarding most things, and able to talk out the other stuff. I just don’t agree that you should do things because it’s expected or because other people think you should. It’s your wedding and relationship, do what works for you, to hell with societal conventions or traditions.

Sorry, rant over. These aside the wedding planning has gone great and the help of others has been gratefully received. I’ve been touched by the response of friends and family. The engagement announcement made me more social, as I met with friends to celebrate and since then have gotten in touch with my friends more. It’s been cool reconnecting and I plan to keep it up more in 2016, and make an effort to ensure I see them more.

The enthusiasm, warmth and love I’ve received has proved that regardless of what else you have in life, the most important thing is the people in it, and the gods have been kind in surrounding me with wonderful people.

There have been plenty of other highs this year, including a trip to Budapest with MWF, Wales doing well at the Rugby World Cup, Wales qualifying for Euro ’16 and getting Midnight, our cute, if annoying, cat.

image

Here’s hoping that 2016 continues to bring good times and new opportunities, and that Wales do well in France. I enter the new year in an optimistic frame of mind, and ready to move forward in life.

Happy New Year to you all!

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

3 Comments on “2015”

  1. ” a life of failure and mediocrity”- can’t be too bad if someone wants to share it with you. Think of life as an England rugby player if you want to put failure in context. And remember that if you are feeling to meet the high standards you set yourself you can always lower the standards. šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

