I don’t like Fridays

Tell you why? Okay.

Every Friday. Every single one my social media is chockablock with people talking about the “Friday feeling” and detailing their plans for a fun weekend.

Why is this a problem? Well my working week starts on Friday, so Friday is essentially my Monday.

image

(Not this weekend though, as it’s my first weekend off since August!)

While everyone else is celebrating the start of their weekend I am at my furthest from mine.

I understand that I’m in a minority, and I don’t begrudge people being happy for their weekend, but it is still a pain in the arse to have it rubbed in your nose that most people are going to be off work.

Worse still is that the weekends are when 90% of plans are made for, which makes sense but it means that I constantly have to opt out of social events or worse still turn up fleetingly before hurrying back to get an early night. This is worse because just as you start having fun you have to go, and you know everyone else is going to continue.

So, by all means enjoy your weekends people but before you post another TGIF meme just pause and consider that not everyone else is going to have the next two days off.

Rant over. If you’re off this weekend, have fun. If you’re working, I hope that your shifts are easy and quiet.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

