#amwriting: Another hashtag title?!

November means different things to different people

To the Yanks it means Thanksgiving, to the Scots it’s St Andrew’s Day. For some it’s about not shaving for charity. For the UK it means bonfire night and dread as you wait for the first Cliff Richard attack that heralds Christmas.

But this year I have joined a smaller group, for whom November means writing. I have decided to take part in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) the aim to crank out an entire novel in the gap between Halloween and the first door on the advent calendar.

image

I have been writing for years, and there are half started novels, films and comics in notebooks. I have wanted to write since I was a boy, but life gets in the way.

The novel I’ve started is one of the abandoned projects. I dusted off the idea and started again from scratch. It’s a thriller but quite a light one.

Writing it has become an obsession. To hit the 50k target I need to write 1667 words a day. On a few days I’ve left it in the dust, and blazed onwards until I tire, something comes on TV or MWF gets home.

I’ve got further than before and feel pumped about it. I know its never going to be a classic but it should be entertaining for readers.

The downside is that I will probably blog less this month, but I hope those who read regularly can understand. Normal service will resume in December.

For other wannabe writers I heartily recommend trying NaNoWriMo, as the structure really helps and having a deadline has helped me get in the groove and stop putting it off.

Also the abbreviated name is incredibly fun to say.

I’ll keep you updated. If any readers are also doing NaNoWriMo get in touch if you want, if not, good luck with your writing!

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

2 Comments on “#amwriting: Another hashtag title?!”

  1. Run Wright says:

    Hey. I’m doing NaNoWriMo too. Agreed. I think the cool name is part of the appeal.
    Check out my post today at http://runwright.net


Leave a Reply

