Mixed Bag: Earwig, Envy and Eponymous Adjectives

Just some random stuff culled from Plinky (which seems to have stopped updating) and The Daily Post.

It will be mine. Oh, yes, it will be mine

Was there a toy or thing you always wanted as a child, during the holidays or on your birthday, but never received? Tell us about it.

The Ghostbusters firehouse toy. Young Chris loved that thing. My best mate, Dai, had one and we’d play with it all the time, and I think it was probably top of my wishlist for years, but I never got it. I got Ecto 1 (the car) which was boss, but to this day I still want the firehouse. I may even look for one on Ebay when I get done posting this.

gbfirehouse

I can’t let go

Write about a noise — or even a silence — that won’t go away. (We’ll let you interpret this in different ways…)

“Let It Go” from Frozen. That song is always with me now. I wake up in the mornings with it on my lips. It’s been over a week since I last watched the movie and it haunts me.

frozen elsa

I’m British, honey, our names don’t mean shit

Some writers’ names have becomes adjectives: Kafkaesque, marxist, Orwellian, sadistic. If your name (or nickname, or blog name) were to become an adjective, what would it mean?

Pagish- Would be to describe the style of writing or talking which swings wildly from sentimental romanticism to borderline sleaze and crudeness. Or to make groan inducing jokes.

Not Guilty

What’s the one guilty pleasure you have that’s so good, you no longer feel guilty about it?

Musicals and rom coms. As a younger man, I’d always be slightly bashful voicing my love for things like Dirty Dancing, The Sound of Music, While You Were Sleeping and Grease, but as I’ve gotten older and more secure about myself I can admit that I love those movies and not worry it makes me look like a loser.

I look like a loser for other reasons.

Video star

Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?

VHS tapes were rubbish, I know that. They warped over time, the picture could be really jumpy and they were massive. Seriously, if you went for a movie fest at a mates you could throw your back out carrying half a dozen videos.

But I hate that they’ve gone. They’re chunkiness made them feel more substantial. And the whole thing of the warping kinda showed how much you’d watched the movie or show over and over. Also, there was taping off the TV, which was amazing. I know you have DVR and downloads now, but you could have a physical hard copy of whatever you stumbled on during the night. Or make compilation tapes of TV series or weird double features on the longer tapes.

Actually, I miss audio cassettes too. They were boss- mix tapes were brilliant.

Yeah, I miss cassettes. I am so damn old.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

