Roses are red, and so is my face

Well, my Lent isn’t going amazingly.

I’m not religious, but I always try to give up something for Lent, mainly for my own reasons. This year I was planning to give up chocolates and sweets, because I’ve been less healthy since coming back to uni and I want to shift some weight. I don’t eat a lot of sweets, but I could stand to cut them out.

Today however, two days into Lent, I cracked. Well, technically I forgot it was Lent, like I said, I’m not religious, and I was offered Cadbury’s Roses, which are like the nicest chocolates.

roses

I was offered them by one of the women in the office I was in today. I’m out on placement, and while I’m mainly in one place, I’ve had days like today where I’ve gone to other places to get more experience of the services on offer.

Anyway, the woman who had the chocolates offered me one and I took one, and it being early March I asked her if they’d been a Valentine’s Day present.

I should have just kept my dumb mouth shut because she just replied with “No, nobody loves me enough to give me Valentine’s”.

I think she was joking but it still made me feel like six feet of crap. I didn’t know whether I should apologize or say something, anything to break the moment and so the awkwardness just hung over us like an uncomfortable cloud.

And then she smiled at me and asked “Did you get many Valentine’s this year?”

It was probably just making conversation, and I may just be being paranoid but I got the sense that she knew, or at least thought she knew what the answer was going to be. I could’ve lied but I was still embarrassed/awkward and so just confirmed that I had received nothing.

So what I learned today was basically- just take the chocolate, say “thank you” and then shut the hell up.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

