Finders keepers

Today I had one of those moments of sheer joy and luck, where random chance lets something good land in your lap.

I’ve spoken before about walking around looking for money on the floor, and how you never seem to find it when you’re looking but will occasionally stumble on some when you’re not.

I was walking home from work when I saw something out of the corner of my eye.

A five pound note.

I glanced around, nobody was looking about on the floor or walking away, and so, in line with my rules (see above link) I was entitled to keep it. This left me with a big goofy grin on my face and I quickly used my new found wealth to hit Tesco on the way home and pick up supplies.

Of course, slightly tempering my joy was the fact that I didn’t feel truly comfortable until after I’d washed my hands and also the fact that I knew that somebody had lost out so that I could benefit. I’m hoping whoever lost it wasn’t extremely hard up and part of me hopes that it was some extremely rich person for whom a fiver is nothing. Or someone shady like an embezzler or a drug dealer.

But of course, it rains on the just as well as the unjust, and it was probably some average Joe on their way home from work or out shopping.

This sours it slightly and it’s times like this that I wish I believed in karma and could hold to the hope that it’ll all balance out in the end.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

One Comment on “Finders keepers”

  1. Ad says:

    It does cut both ways. When I was a kid I found £20 on the way to school. Pressured by kids obviously laying false claim to it (I swear I only told one single friend if found it) I turned it in to lost property at school. I checked every morning; at the end of the week it was unclaimed so they gave it to me. I didn’t tell anyone I got it back!

    I think this establishes me as a good person. About 25 years later I lost a Q of weed out of my jeans on a short walk through an alleyway from the place to my car. It was a 5-min drive home & I was realising my car didn’t smell…I didn’t think anything of it, got home & sat down to find the reason there was no smell was there was nothing to smell! I quickly searched the car, then drove even quickerly back to the alleyway & my guy even checked his house & met me in the alleyway…in the space of about 10mins in this dead leaf & litter- strewn & fairly low foot-traffic alley, some lucky, lucky eagle-eyed passer-by had spotted my hard-earned spoils.

    Karma still owes me £40.


Leave a Reply

