Oh, snap!

My HTC (Hated Tech Crap) phone doesn’t allow me many apps due to it having the memory of a goldfish, but one of the few I do have is Snapchat. This allows you to send photos to your friends which then get automatically deleted after a few seconds. It’s clearly designed for sexting but it’s also quite good fun for just sharing  daft pictures with little comments, which is what I use mine for.

snapchat

However, today Snapchat irritated me beyond belief.

My lecture this morning was Introduction to Midwifery, which could easily have been called “Reasons to be Thankful You’re a Dude”. I hadn’t been looking forward to it, midwifery not being an area I’ve wanted to pursue, but I found it rather interesting given that I knew very little about it and learnt some new things.

However, this didn’t extend to the two girls in the row in front, who kept whispering to each other. A few comments here and there is fine, but they were whispering and giggling and didn’t even pretend to pay attention, having no notebooks or anything on the desk in front of them. It was incredibly off putting and made me want to unleash my inner Snape.

snape hit

What really pushed it over the edge for me was when they started Snapchatting. I’ve seen a few people doing this and it always annoys me.

I can’t lie and say my attention is always focused like a laser, but when my mind wanders I just doodle on my pad, my phone turned off throughout . To start messing about with your mobile is just rude and disrespectful, not to mention obvious to the lecturer.

The thing that irked me was that I was in the background of one of their Snapchats. I was tempted to pull a face in the picture but as our lecturer had a clear line of sight at me it wouldn’t have gone unnoticed and I’d have got the two girls in trouble too. As annoying as they were I didn’t want that, I just wished they’d shut up and at least pretend to be paying attention.

Just act with a shred of class, people!

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

