Five more points from Gryffindor…

…for being an insufferable know-it-all”- Snape, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling

University life is going rather well at the moment. My flatmates have turned out to be a tiny bunch and I think we’re all getting along pretty well. We spend most of our evenings watching DVDs or playing games in the kitchen, and aside from the usual student problems of money concerns and work all is well.

The lectures are going pretty well, although my coffee intake has taken a massive leap upwards due to all the early starts and the fact the lecture hall we’ve been has been either sweltering hot or painfully cold, and I need a caffeine hit to keep me alert.

costa

The other week I had a bit of a wobble, we had a day of science lectures about cells, atoms and such. Within an hour of the start my head was swimming. I felt totally lost, like I’d staggered into a French lesson or something. Words I vaguely recognized shot past me but failed to organize themselves into anything I could fathom.

This was unnerving. I’m no great scholar, but I always held my own in school, college and uni the first time out. I’m not dull, and being this lost was really freaking me out. I was worried I’d made a massive error in studying nursing, I mean, I was totally out of my depth.

Slowly, with some back up reading it started clicking for me, and the panic passed.

I think what threw me was the shift in gears. I realized that it’s been a long time since I did any scientific studies, in fact it was the first science lesson I’d had since doing my GCSEs way back in 2001. 12 years.

I’m starting to find my groove again now, and finding it easier to absorb and understand the information, even though I must admit I’m far more at home in the lectures about stuff like health promotion, ethics and so on. I’ve even raised my hand to answer and ask questions a couple of times.

This brings me to the major thrust of this post, and what’s been grinding my gears of late.

One of my fellow students, who’s name and gender will remain secret and be known as Hermione in this post, is really getting on my nerves.

Hermione seems nice enough, they’re smart and seemingly pleasant. I’ve never heard them say or do anything mean or bitchy, but they have one quirk which infuriates me. They stick their hand up all the time.

hermione

Now, I’m not against some participating, and I ain’t some moron who’s going to whinge about “swots” or whatever, but Hermione’s actions are beginning to grate.

For starters, it’s constant, chipping in with answers is nice, but sometimes the comments, while intelligent enough are a little disconnected from the actual topic the lecturer is pursuing. This stalls the lecture.

The second thing, and by far the most annoying is Hermione’s insistence in using long words in their answers. Again, this isn’t a problem, but there’s something about the way they do it that just makes them sound like they’re trying to sound intelligent and it just seems a trifle forced and smug, like they’ve learnt a series of phrases and terms and drop them to seem knowledgeable. It doesn’t help that the same couple of phrases have cropped up multiple times, and that just seems like someone’s memorized some stuff.

I just want to say to Hermione that their bravery in answering question while others sit silent is admirable, but maybe reign it in a bit, seems like you’re just showing off at times, and that’s not cool, man. That makes you look like a bit of a douche, so maybe just be comfortable with knowing what’s up without having to show everyone else?

Like I said, it’s nothing personal, but it’s just starting to get annoying hearing the same voice chime in again and again.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

4 Comments on “Five more points from Gryffindor…”

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I feel ya. I had a course-mate that thought he knew everything and brought up random topics in class. Towards my last few semesters, my lecturer began to ignore him. LOL!

  2. aspenlinmer says:

    I totally get where you’re coming from and what a great way to tell those in the world that Hermione is a genius and plays an essential role…but being aware of how others react to us is important too.

    ~Aspen


Leave a Reply

