Bloodied

So, I was going to write a book review today. I sat down at my laptop ready to find a picture illustration of the cover and to give my opinion on Nick Hornby’s latest.

But before I could start this I needed to blow my nose.

I did so and realized that my handkerchief (yeah, I use a hankie, what of it?) had blood on it. Looking to my right at the mirror on my wall I discovered my nose was bleeding. I grabbed some kitchen roll to replace the handkerchief.

blood 001

Now, there wasn’t that much blood and I can deal with blood, but it was still disconcerting as hell to suddenly randomly start bleeding for no reason.

I think I may have just cracked the skin or something because my nose has been sore since Friday night. In a “blown my nose too much” way not a Robin Williams in the 80s way.

It made me think about nosebleeds though, I’ve only ever had a bloody nose when I fell over as a kid and ruined my Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles shirt by bleeding all over it. Nosebleeds are one of those things I was starting to suspect were just a cinematic invention, like quicksand they feature a lot in old movies and stuff but I’ve yet to witness either for real. (Quicksand is still one of the scariest things I’ve ever heard of and I constantly fear I’m going to stumble onto a patch)

I don’t even know what causes nosebleeds. I would Google it, but I’m sure as with every health question the answer will be cancer or imminent death, and it appears to have stopped now so I should be okay.

Still, a weird experience to have.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

