Queuing

I’ve never understood people who camp out waiting for stuff.

I remember first seeing it way back in ’99 when Episode I came out, and not really understanding it. I was eagerly looking forward to checking out The Phantom Menace but I couldn’t imagine sitting out on the pavement for it, even if it did look kinda fun, with the fans sitting around, dressed up and having a laugh with each other.

camp out episode 1

Over the year there have been more things where I’ve watched people queuing up for stuff and while some did look rather fun (the Harry Potter fans seemed to be having a whale of a time) others just looked pathetic.

Book Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

I don’t care what it is- a sale, a new book, computer game, phone or movie, I just can’t see why I’d get so hyped up that I’d sit around all night and then storm towards the door like someone was handing out the secret to eternal life.

I guess it’s because I don’t feel that need to be first. Sure, dodging spoilers is a drag, but so what if you find out early that character A dies or B and C get together. Unless it’s a major plot twist does it really effect your enjoyment?

The tech stuff looks like even more of a waste of time, and seems an exercise in “Look at me!” posturing.

Oh, you’ve got the new iPhone before everyone else? Whoop-de-f**king-doo!

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet”><p>These guys have set up camp in London's Regents St so they can buy the new iPhone 5s….it's not out til Friday!! <a href=”http://t.co/71mhxvMQcV”>pic.twitter.com/71mhxvMQcV</a></p>&mdash; sophieraworth (@sophieraworth) <a href=”https://twitter.com/sophieraworth/statuses/379956851586400257″>September 17, 2013</a></blockquote>
<script async src=”//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js” charset=”utf-8″></script>

Any cool points your phone might earn you (and personally I don’t think it’ll be many) is surely undercut by the fact that you spent hours or even days outside waiting for a phone which will only be cutting edge for what, a year? Eighteen months? Surely you must have better things to do with your time (you do, and I shouldn’t call you Shirley).

When it comes to tech I usually buy mine after I’ve heard from people who own them, otherwise you might end up with something that doesn’t work. Give me something that works over something new and flash any day.

Also, the people who go for them tend to be smug, hipster types or what a friend of mine called “iDiots”. You see them on news items or YouTube vids prancing around like they’ve won the World Cup or something when all they did was PAY for something. In fact, they bought them on day one so they probably paid more than Johnny-come-lately who rocks up a few months down the line. That’s the guy who should be celebrating.

I really dug the Somersby Cider advert that spoofed the phenomenon.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

One Comment on “Queuing”

  1. I wouldn’t do that either. You’ll get the object eventually without wasting your time in line.


Leave a Reply

