First Listen: Applause by Lady Gaga

So, as probably one of the larger Little Monsters out there I’m really looking forward to Lady Gaga’s new album, Artpop, which is due for release in a few months time, there have been leaked, low quality versions of the first single from the album, “Applause”. I’ve avoided them but with a proper authorized version available I checked it out today, here are my thoughts:

applause

  • Like the techno-esque opening, reminds me of old computer games music.
  • “I live for the applause”- I’ve seen someone complaining about Gaga singing about fame so much, but I mean, she’s one of the biggest pop stars on the planet, she can’t really sing about the day-to-day life things. And also, she’s a popstar who benefits from the glitz and glamour, as with Russell Brand her persona only works with fame. Without fame it’d just look mental. Personally I like it.
  • Good, toe tapping beat that had me busting a little bit of a move on the sofa.
  • I like the tempo change for the chorus which gives it a sort of uplifting David Guetta-style quality (Yes, I like David Guetta’s stuff, okay? It’s feel good pop)
  • It’s pretty much what you expect from Gaga- cool, slickly produced pop music which is distinctively Gaga.
  • It doesn’t blow me away on the first listen in the way that “Bad Romance” or “Poker Face” did, but it took me a while to come around to “Alejandro” and to fall for “Government Hooker” which is now one of my personal favourites.

So on balance I quite like it. It’s not my favourite of her work, but it bodes well for the upcoming album.

Here’s the song, annoyingly with little adverts for the hosting site:

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

