Wales leads the way

Today Wales became the first of the UK countries to change the policy on organ donation and instead of making it an opt-in situation it’s now opt-out deal.

Basically this means that if you don’t want your organs to be donated after your death you have to make your objection known.

Personally, I think this is a great idea.

I’ve had a donor card for a while now, I firmly believe that when I shuffle off this mortal coil my spare parts should be taken to help those in need. I won’t be needing them, so it just makes sense to me that they should go to those who do.

The problem with the opt-in system was that not everyone might be aware of it and pick up a donor card, and also because some people are a little superstitious about stuff like that. It’s like people who don’t make wills because they think in some way that this is tempting fate and they’ll be struck down as they leave the lawyer’s office.

This meant that some people who wanted to donate, or were indifferent to it, weren’t donating.

Under the new system, everyone is assumed to be down with it. Now, some people have genuine objections to having their organs harvested whether for religious reasons or simply not liking the idea, and that’s their choice. So, these people with these objections can go ahead and remove them from the donor list.

Anyone who’s indifferent to the whole thing, or objects but not strongly enough to do anything about it, gets their organs taken to help other people.

Which seems fair to me. I mean, if you don’t care enough to say no, then clearly you don’t really care what’s happened, and the greater good prevails.

Hopefully, the rest of the UK will follow Wales’ lead and more people will be eligible to donate organs and people won’t be stuck on donor lists as long.

Story here.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

2 Comments on “Wales leads the way”

  1. Actually I’m going to have to come down on the side of not liking this one.

    Certainly, lives will be saved by increasing the amount of organs being donated and this is good, but there are serious drawbacks to this.

    One, say someone dies. Well suddenly there’s a rush to harvest as many organs as possible. Is there time taken to process and see if this person has any transmittable diseases? Don’t get me wrong, if I need a transplant to live I’m going to be happy to get one, but I’m going to be less enthusiastic if I suddenly have aids, cancer, or something else that is going to kill me from my new “life saving organ.”

    The second, and larger issue I have is this. It basically is the Government and Medical industry saying “We have more of a right to your body and its disposal than you do.” and that can lead down some very dark roads. You’re turning the human body into something to be farmed and cannibalized for parts on a massive scale regardless of the individuals wishes. a fundamental human right is that we own our bodies and can do with them as we please both in life and death. and this is violating that right

    • chrisebpage says:

      I get that not everybody else is going to agree. Your second argument is the one I’d consider as a potential risk, but at the same time it’s not against someone’s wishes as there is a way of opting out.
      Under the old system many organs would go to waste because someone hadn’t chosen to get a card, if they wanted to or if they were indifferent. As a result family consent would need to be obtained, and grieving families don’t want to deal with that thing and are probably going to react emotionally.
      As for your first point. I’d assume that tests would be performed. Yes, there is a rush with organ transplants, but checking for infections and disease would be the standard process.
      I have an organ donor card, but if I die I think there’d be checks before they put me in someone else.
      Thanks for the feedback!


Leave a Reply

