Grounded.

I like traveling. I haven’t had many opportunities to do it but I quite like visiting new places, and it’s something I’d love to do more of in the future.

Last year I only got to go to Dublin and Edinburgh, and this year the only places I’ve been to are London and Manchester

I was hoping that I’d get to go away this summer, maybe take a week or a fortnight at the end of the summer to see a bit more of Europe or maybe even go to the US and see New York, which is pretty high on my destination wishlist.

But due to lack of money this isn’t going to be possible.

I kind of need the break.

In September I kick off 3 years at university on what looks like it might be a tough and potentially stressful course, and to have some cash to help me get by I need to keep working, which is a drag as my job has been getting to me lately and leaving me frazzled and generally fed up.

I’m tired and I was hoping that before the course I could have some downtime, go somewhere sunny and chill out for a bit. Just recharge, and not worry about anything. I think we can all agree that a holiday is a great way to improve your mood and outlook, and boy, I could do with one of those, or I’m going to be starting at uni coming out of a funk and that might make it more challenging than it should be.

I’ll definitely have a few days off before I start uni, and a week of hanging with mates and bumming around should do me some good. But it’s not the same, is it?

The best I’ll be able to do is maybe a long weekend away. I’m thinking somewhere in Britain, unless I can find extremely cheap flights and a hostel in Spain or somewhere else. And I’m talking ridiculously cheap. I’d try couch surfing, but I’m a pretty ugly dude and I doubt many people would be willing to put me up.

I’ll update if I manage to get anything sorted, but it’s not looking good.

Unless I get lucky and win the lottery, or some travel company reads this and decides to give me a fortnight in the Greek Islands for free.

Well, a guy can dream, can’t he?

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

