Mixed Bag: Metaphors, Monuments and Mortification.

Questions from Plinky.

I want to go to there

Which famous monument do you hope to see one day?

Easy. The Pyramids, I’ve heard great things about Egypt and I would love to go see these in person, having seen them countless times on TV, films and in books. They just have such an aura of mystery and grandeur I’d be interesting to see if this is the same in person.

aa pyramids

Drink up!

Is the glass half full, or half empty?

The half full/empty glass metaphor is a rather simple and clever metaphor for the different ways people deal with life and situations and the divide between pessimists and optimists.

aa half

However, I’m not entirely sure if it’s actually right. I often find myself in both states of mind at the same time, as one of my worst characteristics is to first have a mad worst case scenario fantasy and then flick to “it’ll all be fine”.

It does mean I stress less and am always kind of prepared if things go South. So, I guess I’m mainly a half full kinda guy, but with brief moments where I panic that not only is the glass half empty but that it’s the last available drink in the world.

Failure is not an option

Tell us about something you would attempt if you were guaranteed not to fail (and tell us why you haven’t tried it yet).

Man, in a world without the prospect and fear of failure I’d try all kinds of stuff. You can tell yourself to take chances and not be afraid of risks (or even tell yourself YOLO if you’re a cretin) but it’s hard to actually overcome that and push on.

So, it’s hard to narrow it down to what I’d actually try to do, so here’s a quick selection:

  • Learn to ride a motorbike
  • Base jump
  • Train to be a boxer
  • Stop crime
  • Write a novel
  • Stand-up comedy
  • Chat up girls

Cringe!

Do you feel uncomfortable when you see someone else being embarrassed? What’s most likely to make you squirm?

Sometimes people making a fool of themselves can be utterly hilarious. But every now and then I get painfully embarrassed for people when things go pear shaped for them.

The factors that provoke this sympathetic cringing vary, but it’s usually youngsters being embarrassed in front of the opposite sex, someone who’s clearly trying to appear in control coming a cropper and people being unwittingly embarrassed, like when you see somebody who’s got a smudge on their face, or skirt tucked into their underwear. It’s just the knowledge that later on they will realize and go through the hell of wondering how long it’s been that way and just how many people might have been witness to it.

That never fails to make me cringe, as does when people are left hanging waiting for a high five or two people miss a high five. Painful to watch.

Shut up and play

Do you need to agree with an artist’s lifestyle or politics to appreciate their art? To spend money on it?

I’m not sure it does, unless it actually comes through in the work. For example, if someone does a homophobic or racist song I’ll drop them, but at the same time despite knowing his anti-Semitic views I still quite like Wagner’s “Ride of the Valkyries”. It’s a beautiful piece of work, regardless of it’s creators views.

I think the thing with art is that it’s usually open to interpretation and our own personal experience and feelings regarding them, so it’s usually quite easy to separate them from the artists responsible.

For example, take “My Sharona” by The Knack. If you read the lyrics it’s an extremely sleazy little song about a guy lusting after a young girl. But for me, it’s a feelgood song which I mainly associate with my little sister, Liz, because she loves this song and we used to dementedly pogo to it when we’d go to the rock club in Swansea.

So, yeah, I’d buy art created by someone who’s politics I’d disagree with, as long as the art itself didn’t push or endorse the views and attitudes I disagreed with.

Multiple Man

If you could clone yourself, how would you split up your responsibilities?

This is kind of an interesting question, because you’d initially think that you’d send one of your clones to do all your work while another ran errands and you sat around doing whatever you like, but sooner or later your clones would revolt, wouldn’t they?

You’d have to rotate. Chris Prime would have one day off, then one day at work and then one day of errand running and assorted productive things. Of course, the downside would be that you’d have to spend every evening talking to yourself so that you were all on the same page and avoided messing up or forgetting to get stuff done.

Rather than being able to clone myself I’d prefer to be like the Multiple Man from the X-Men comics, where I could split apart at the start of the day and then merge together at the end, so I’d have all the knowledge and experiences of all the different versions of me. I could see a movie, work and read a book all at the same time.
multipleman

 

Dropping eaves

Do you eavesdrop on people in public places?

Doesn’t everyone? I usually do it when I catch a weird or interesting phrase, or if it looks like it might be getting heated between the chatters. I know it’s probably quite rude, but sometimes when you’re on a train or grabbing a coffee, having a little bit of a nose into the life of a complete stranger is rather fun. Also, sometimes you hear funny/crazy stories.

aa eaves

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

