28

Yesterday I turned 28, thus avoiding being a member of the 27 club.

27club

I got a few good gifts, and lots of awesome texts and Facebook messages which was nice, and in the evening I spent time with my family, getting a curry and watching Skyfall.

The problem is that I had to work a 12 hour shift. On my birthday!

Luckily it was a fairly good shift, but still, there’s something that feels inherently wrong about working on your birthday.

My family never went in for giving us Carte Blanche on our birthdays, but you did get a few perks- you chose what film the family watched and so on.

I do think they should do something about it, I mean, everyone could take the day off and it wouldn’t cause that much of an issue. I mean, 2/7 people’s birthdays would be at weekends anyway so the economy wouldn’t suffer that much and then there’s bank holidays and so on, so it’s not like everyone would get to take advantage every year.

But mainly it just kind of hammers home how rubbish your birthdays get. Don’t get me wrong, the presents, well wishing and evening was great, but I seem to remember birthdays being a lot more fun. You had parties and did stuff like go karting, splash parties or whatever. I mean, when I was at uni we didn’t have parties but you got a couple of free drinks and that was awesome, but now birthdays come and go without much fuss.

I hope that the bigger birthdays (30, 40, 50, 60, 75 etc) that people make more of a fuss, and not just for me, I just think everyone should have one day where they get some appreciation and fuss made of them.

Anyway, I’m off to Cardiff now to see Journey, Whitesnake and Thunder live, so I’ve got an evening full of soft rock headbanging ahead of me.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

