Milestones and Missing People

A little under a fortnight ago I posted my 500th post on this blog. I got mixed up about what day it was so I didn’t mark the day, which is weird as I’m someone who loves marking and celebrating pointless milestones.

I am pretty proud of myself for writing a post for pretty much every day for 500 consecutive days, and as regular readers will have noticed I’ve continued posting daily after that.

I had considered using the 500 post mark as a chance to step back, and break the daily posting habit. Sometimes it’s a bit of a chore trying to come up with something to write (witness the joke posts and the first few picture posts as evidence of this), and there was another reason for becoming a bit disillusioned with the whole blog.

I’ve been losing viewers.

One of the best and worst things about WordPress is that they have a “stats” section. This is good because it means that you can actually know for definite that there are people out there reading your stuff and also see which posts are getting the best response, so if you wanted to you could change your style and cater towards them.

But it’s not all good news, when you have a blip downwards in views you start worrying about what you’ve written and why people are turning away from you.

When I first started this blog my daily views were fairly low, but slowly they started to rise getting to the point where I was averaging about 125 a day, this continued to go up and by the end of last year I was hitting 200 views a day easily and even had a few days where I got 300 views.

I checked in from time to time to see how I was doing and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t get a bit of a self-satisfied buzz from the fact so many people were checking out my page, even if some were just looking for pictures of Francine from American Dad with bigger boobs.

Then at some point in mid January my numbers dropped off, steeply. I dropped below 100 views on a couple of days.

I couldn’t work it out. Had my writing got worse? Was I no longer covering topics people found interesting? It bugged me for days, especially as the dip continued. It’s climbed a little bit now, but I’m only just getting over 100 views now, leaving me with one question-

Where’d everybody go?

I know it shouldn’t bother me, I mainly write this blog for myself and enjoy doing it, but it does. I enjoy doing it, but I also enjoy knowing that other people are enjoying it, or at least tolerating it.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

One Comment on “Milestones and Missing People”

  1. Pete Denton says:

    Wow, congratulations on hitting your 500th post. That is a fantastic effort. I’ve just hit the 100 mark so have a way to go. I can never work out the stats. Somedays are better than others and I try to let them go and not obsess. Not easy. Here’s to the next 500 🙂


Leave a Reply

