Countdown to regret

Ah, the face tattoo, a handy shorthand that reveals that the owner (is that the right word?) is at least one of three things-

  1. A Maori warrior
  2. A total douche
  3. A criminal (seriously, do a Google image search of “face tattoo” and see how many of them are mug shots)

Now, I’m a big fan of tattoos. I have three myself and am planning more, and I also find them quite cool and attractive on others. I also think that they’re a nice way of people expressing themselves, and while not all are to my own taste I respect people’s right to chose whatever they want, wherever they want on their body.

However, the face tattoo is something I struggle to get behind. I mean, I hate to sound like a fuddy duddy, but you really need to think things through. I know there are times when I have to appear respectful, and while tattoos aren’t as taboo as they used to be, there are still times when showing some ink is ill advised. I’ve been an usher, a pall bearer and a job interviewee and all those occasions it’s been good that I’m able to hide all my tattoos with a long sleeved shirt (all my planned ones will be under clothes as well).

See, Tyson can have a face tattoo, because well, he's Mike Tyson.

See, Tyson can have a face tattoo, because well, he’s Mike Tyson.

A face tat, however, is always on show unless you wear a balaclava, and that’s just going to cause more problems.

So, this week I was rather surprised by the incredibly stupid news story I read this week, in which a young lady broke what I’m going to dub Chris’ Two Rules of Tattoos- 1. No partners names and 2. No face tattoos.

Yes, not only did this young lady, Lesya, make the poorly judged decision of getting the name of her boyfriend inked onto her skin, but she also chose to get it done right across her face. Here’s a picture of the girl:

facetat1

Idiot.

Now some of you might be thinking; But Chris, I thought you were a soft headed romantic, I’d have thought you’d charmed by this kind of display of affection.

You’d be wrong though, I can’t get behind name tattoos- they just seem foolish, like they’re tempting fate and may ruin your future life, and also, it kind of feels like you’ve been branded by your lover.

This sense of branding is not eased by the fact that the fella, Ruslan, as the five inch high letters reveal, did the tattoo himself.

What makes me regard Lesya as an even greater fool is that she and Ruslan had only met the day before. Yes, less than 24 hours after meeting the dude, she allowed him to put his name across her face, permanently.

It turns out that Ruslan has been in the news before, as he was the idiot who tattooed a mess of stars across a girl’s face after she came in to get three done. At the time I thought that story sounded a bit suspect, and thought that the lady may have asked for the tattoo and merely blamed him when she regretted it later, but it seems he did actually ink her while she slept.

facetat2

The fact that he did that makes Ruslan seem like a bit of a douche, and suggests that the regret threshold on Lesya’s tattoo may be even shorter than I first thought.

She’s going to regret it, of that I’m almost 100% positive, and from the moment Ruslan finished the countdown to regret began, ticking away until she catches a glimpse of herself in a mirror and thinks to herself “What the hell have I done?”

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

2 Comments on “Countdown to regret”

  1. dsantos85 says:

    I’m all for tattoos, I have a couple myself; HOWEVER, i despise face tattoos. There are so many other places to tattoo! Why put one on your face? It just doesn’t make sense to me.

  2. Jeremy says:

    The stars tattooed on that chicks face was a request from the girl who got them done. Blamed the artist when her father picked her up. I read the article on it where she then admits too asking him for the stars.


Leave a Reply

