Skyfail: My least favourite ad of the moment and one I quite like

There are two adverts on at the moment both advertising television programmes, one which I hate and another which I kinda dig.

The one I hate is for the channel/company Sky and features two stars of it’s recent shows, Ruth Jones from Stella and Robert Lindsay who’s in Spy. The advert is basically the two of them in a cafe nattering away about how great Sky and it’s programmes, and it is one of the most painful, poorly written things I’ve seen in ages, when Lindsay brings up an “actor friend” who’s previously been critical of Sky but is coming around I just want to put my foot through the screen.

It’s of the same calibre as those terrible party political broadcasts.

I can’t find a video of it, but you’re not missing much.

One of the things that I dislike the most is that I’m quite a big fan of Ruth Jones, who I think is a really funny, talented actress and writer, as well as being kinda sexy.

ruth

She’s probably best known for co-writing Gavin & Stacey, where she also played Nessa, and it’s weird that somebody who gained success with a show that kind of captured how people really talk to each other is in something so toe-curlingly awful which bares little resemblance to proper human conversation.

Seriously, the Hobbit’s dialogue feels more natural and everyday.

The whole exercise feels smug, insincere and self-congratulatory, with two of the channels stars clearly being paid to talk about how good their shows are and how they’re part of some new wave of great British TV. It’s just disappointing to see the dead eyed way they’re helping Rupert Murdoch make even more money.

The advert I like is also kind of smug, but it pulls it off largely due to it’s star- The Ma-Sheen himself- Charlie Sheen!

The ad is for his post Two & A Half Men/meltdown show Anger Management (which I’ve yet to see but seems to tick a few boxes- Sheen’s deadpan delivery and playing a version of himself, and also Selma Blair!). The ad, which you can watch below uses it’s celebrity star’s notoriety well and there’s a kind of tongue-in-cheek playfulness about it. It’s definitely as well thought and manufactured as the Sky ad but it’s educated with much more charm and humour, and doesn’t feel quite so insincere and false.

Of course, it doesn’t hurt that I’m a pretty big Sheen fan.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

