Yeah, that won’t come back to bite us in the ass…

Being a nerd, I’ve grown up watching and reading stories about mankind being pursued and persecuted by cold, ruthless machines that have turned against their creators.

terminators

And I can’t deny that all this has had a bit of a negative effect on me. I might use my computer a lot (too much?) but I still have a bit of a distrust in technology. I’m still not entirely convinced that Twitter, Tumblr and YouTube haven’t been created to keep us distracted and passive as the machines gather their strength.

"This Gangnam Style parody is making me ROFL!"

“This Gangnam Style parody is making me ROFL!”

I especially don’t like the folks out there who seem to actively be helping the machines on their road to world domination, which is something I’ve discussed before.

So when I read about some scientist teaching robots how to lie I just thought, “Oi, eggheads, no!”, seriously, logic and truthfulness are like the things that give us an edge over the machines and you’re teaching them how to play those games?! You idiots.

This is what happens when you teach machines to lie, they screw you over.

This is what happens when you teach machines to lie, they screw you over.

Georgia Tech have teamed up with the US Navy to make these little robots which can lay false trails to deceive their pursuers and while its still early days, it creeps me out a little. Although looking at the robots in question you could probably take them out with a broom.

Yeah, its not that scary. But its what it represents.

Yeah, its not that scary. But its what it represents.

Full story here.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO.

Leave a Reply

