Wagons roll!

Urghhhhhhh.

I’m slowly starting to recover from drinking far too much last night. I don’t remember how much I drank, but it was a lot.

This morning I was like the other end of this guy

So much that I can remember leaving someone an answerphone message but not what I actually said, which is incredibly worrying. And this morning at around 7am I was sick as a dog.

I think my mistakes last night were- drinking on an empty stomach, drinking too quickly and mixing my drinks.

These are my mistakes on most nights out.

I don’t remember doing anything bad last night, and in fact had a really good time and remember lots of laughing and chatting, but that phone call hangs over my head, especially as when I’m drunk I go on little tangents and stuff, and devise jokes and stuff that I assume everyone will understand. I’m yet to hear from the person, which increases my fear I said something uberstupid.

Anyway, whatever I said I’m sure I can sort it out, but the whole thing got me thinking.

I don’t drink frequently anymore, in fact, I’ve only got drunk 3 times this year so far, and in between binges I tend to only have about 3 pints a fortnight, but here’s the thing, I’m thinking of stopping drinking.

Entirely.

This isn’t the usual morning after “I’m never drinking again” lie, this is actually a serious thought I’ve had.

Here’s the thing, I’m not sure I like how I am when I’m drunk.

I’m loud and stupid enough sober, but booze makes me worse. I don’t like that while I can be fairly amusing a night can turn and I can end up sulky or feeling low.

I don’t like worrying about if I’ve texted someone something weird or stupid when I wake up, and I don’t like that after a certain part Drunk Chris loses all control and will keep pounding drinks down until either I run out of money, pass out or get ill.

I’m fine to a point, but when drunk I just don’t figure out that maybe I should stop drinking, or at least space the booze out with soft drinks.

And there’s the hangovers, which have been getting progressively worse over the years. Its got to the stage where pretty much the next day is a write off due to me being too ruined to do anything.

I’m writing this in the early evening and I have to admit, its only now I’m in a state to do anything.

Its not worth it, as much fun as the night is, it doesn’t warrant the next day’s roughness.

Now, I suppose I could just rein it in, but I know myself too well and I won’t, so maybe its better to just cut myself off completely.

I have done nights out sober in the past, and while it gets some getting used to they’re not that bad, and I’m more confident now so I’m sure I could get up on a dancefloor sober now. I have a few friends who don’t drink and they’re brilliant on nights out.

So, I guess this is it, booze and I have had a good time over the last 11 years, but its time to break away.

And it’ll have lots of benefits-

  1. Healthier- all the running is kinda ruined if I’m drinking as booze leads to bad choices like kebabs, McDonalds and more booze.
  2. I’ll be able to make sure I don’t do anything stupid
  3. Make me more confident as a person
  4. Save money

There we have it then. Let the Straight Edge era begin.

But don’t worry, I won’t bang on about how not drinking makes me better than others, I’m not CM Punk or anything. Drinking is fine, but I think for me, its time to stop, and I’ll be better without it.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO

6 Comments on “Wagons roll!”

  1. bigheadjoe says:

    Good for you! Keep it up! Hope you have as it’s been a month since this post!

    • chrisebpage says:

      Thanks man. Yes, have kept it up, not even slightly tempted to drink again.

      • bigheadjoe says:

        Excellent! It’s been almost 2 weeks since I declared myself straight edge. That’s not a long time but I’m holding myself accountable, and I’m glad to see other people doing the same! If you ever need someone to talk to, give me a shout.

  2. […] been just over 3 months since I went straight edge, and reading back on the first post I wrote about it I think I should probably go into more detail about some stuff I was a little […]

  3. […] It was about 167 days ago that after getting completely blitzed at a house party I woke up feeling rough and worried about my drunken behaviour, and so I vowed to go straight edge. […]

  4. Chris H says:

    Straight edge is more than just “not wanting to drink because you had a bad time”.

    You’re tee total. You’re not drinking alcohol. That isn’t “straight edge”. But then again, “tee total” isn’t a cool a label as “straight edge”, which you clearly want to have and brag about.


Leave a Reply

