7k

Yesterday I woke up, the sun streaming into my room and felt really good. Maybe it was the sun or because I had a full weekend off, but I got up right away and pulled on my trainers without the customary battle of wills with Lazy Chris.

Thanks to my shiny new headphones I had music again, and they actually stayed in better than my old ones.

The problem with having music after a few weeks of silence is that I wasn’t used to it and caught myself singing along. Loudly and tunelessly singing along to Starship’s “We Built This City”.

Annoyingly, when I got down to the marina one of the bridges I cross was open for a boat which was miles away from it and moving slowly.

I saw the people on the boat and they looked pretty happy.

I love running past the marina because it gives me the opportunity to daydream about what I’d do if I had more money, as the flats down there seem pretty cool, and I’d love to own a boat, even if I had to live on it.

Living on a boat- if its good enough for Sonny Crockett, its good enough for me.

Anyway, I ran around the bay, passing some kind of exercise class headed up by a ridiculously fit looking black guy who gave me a look that was part pity and part amusement.

I got further than I usually do, but due to the bridge thing I’d had to take a different route.

I wound up running by the uni where the council have set up all these outdoor, free to use gym equipment, its a good idea but it meant that as I rang along I passed a steady stream of people who served to remind me that while I may be fitter, I’m still a way away from being fit.

There were a lot of runners and I offered all of them a little smile and a nod, because I like to think we should offer each other these minor encouraging gestures. I appreciate them when I recieve them so I like to give them as much as I can.

I realised I was almost as far as Singleton Hospital, which is considerably further than I’ve ever run before and I thought was good if I dropped down with a heart attack or something.

I hit the 50 minute mark, slowed to a walk and dug out my iPod- 7.04km!

I had broken the 7k mark. This has been my goal for the 50 minute runs. I tend to run a kilometre in a little over 7 minutes, so I figured that if I could manage just over 6 in 45, then I should make 7 in 50. However, I’ve been posting distances just under this, but as previously explained this might be due to me changing my route.

It was really good to break it and I walked back to Swansea extremely chuffed and with Rare Earth’s “I Just Want To Celebrate” blaring in my ears. Life was good.

I also discovered that a really good warming down soundtrack is the Bellamy Brothers, as their mellow country vibe really works to calm you down while also still being quite cheerful. If I make a proper running playlist their songs “Let Your Love Flow” and “If I Said You Had A Beautiful Body Would You Hold It Against Me” will definitely be on the come down part.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO

Leave a Reply

