Red Man

I’ve started doing 50 minute jogging sessions this week, and because of time constraints I haven’t been able to run along the bay and instead have adapted a brand new route which is a circle.

Annoyingly, I seemed to be slowing down.

I couldn’t work it out, yes, I’d missed a week but I should’ve been adding a bit more distance to my runs. But there wasn’t much improvement.

It was bugging me, had I reached my peak? If I had it wasn’t much of a peak, more of just a slight rise.

And then the other day I worked it out.

I was stood at the traffic lights, jogging on the spot, as I always do. I decided to check how my run was doing.

According to my iPod I wasn’t moving.

All my jogging on the spot was eating up time but didn’t actually count as running!

I figure because I was bouncing on the ball of my feet the sensor wasn’t reading.

The Red Man was robbing me of distance.

Grrr.

I figure before I’d lose about 30ish seconds per light at 3 lights, so at most 1 1/2 minutes, but due to the loop I hit the lights twice, costing me about 3 minutes. That’s quite a bit of time.

So now, if you happen to be at the traffic lights in Swansea you’ll see me running around in circles at the side of the road. I must look mental, but I don’t really care, as the runs since I realised this have seen a marked improvement.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO

Leave a Reply

