Everyday Heroes: The Subway Saint

Its been a rubbish day. Nothing too serious has happened, its just been one of those days filled with little annoyances.

It didn’t start well with the fact I work last night and whatever left over good feeling I had from my week off has fully evaporated. Add to this the fact that I’ve been ill all weekend and its a seriously irked Chris let loose on the streets of Swansea.

Like Rambo said- "Don't push me!"

And its the Easter holidays, so every bus is rammed full of people, many of whom are annoying brats, or even worse, obnoxious teenage boys. With the boys acting like trained apes who missed their training and the girls strutting about like low class hookers, I’m starting to think that the Hunger Games aren’t a senseless, brutal waste of young life and more of a bloody good idea.

Then the PTB, the cruel bastards, decide to pour it on by making taps splash all over me, lids refusing to open and my iPod headphones going on the fritz. The general effect is that I’ve spent a lot of my day shouting and swearing at inanimate objects, having increasingly violent Judge Dredd style fantasies about my fellow bus passengers and fighting the urge to punt my parents cat if it continues to whine at me.

One day I will say to someone "Gaze into the fist of Page!"

Anyway, on dark days like this you need a hero. And thankfully, one was on hand to restore my faith in mankind.

I was grabbing lunch in Subway and thought as Lent is over I’d treat myself to a cookie as well. £5 meal deal, 50p for a cookie. That’s £5.50, right?

Wrong.

It turned out it was £5.89. I did the traditional pat down for change, knowing full well that I didn’t have any, but still, you have to do it.

Looked like I’d have to break a fiver, which was a drag, and the poor fella behind the counter looked as though working out the complicated maths of the change situation was beyond him.

And then, he appeared, leaping in to save the day.

“How much are you short?” Said the young guy behind me in the queue, a skinny, indie looking fella.

“39p” Said the maths-phobic staff member, clearly happy that a saviour had entered the field.

The guy started rummaging in his pocket for change.

“You don’t have to, mate” I started “I’ve got a fiver.”

“Oh, you don’t want to break a fiver for 30-odd pence.” He said. “Its annoying when you have to do that.”

He handed over 40p.

I thanked him profusely, amazed by this generosity and classiness. Like a true hero, he was marvelously modest.

“Its nothing, man, we’ve all been there.”

Then when handed his change, you know what he did? He put it in the charity box. What a legend.

So, if you’re out there, dude, cheers you not only helped me out but cheered me up and restored my faith in the decency of mankind.

I’ve decided that this fabulous random act of kindness must be paid forward so I can help cheer up other people’s days. So, I’m going to try and find 3 people to help over the next days.

Feeling much better having written this while watching Don’t Tell The Brideand having a few vodkas. Its like when the Hulk calms down back into Banner.

I always imagine Banner must feel the way you do after a big, messy night out. "What the hell did I do?"

Although, the wireless going down and my continuing inability to enjoy the dip that I bought earlier, along with the cat continuing to whine at me, have started to get the anger bubbling away again. And trust me, you wouldn’t like me when I’m angry.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO

Leave a Reply

