The Incredible Shrinking Chris

I don’t like weighing myself.

Why I will never buy a talking scale.

Mainly because I have years of lardyness behind me and on the infrequent occasions I weighed myself it made for depressing information. I knew I was fat, but I didn’t want to know how fat I was.

In fact, I hadn’t weighed myself in ages until June last year when I had a health check at the doctor’s which revealed that I was lighter than the previous time.

I think this mainly due to the fact that I’d moved out, and having to live on my wages meant that there was less food sitting around the house for me to graze on, and also, I was walking to work quite regularly, and the 2 miles or so I walked meant I was shifting some of the bulk.

The concentrated effort to get healthier kind of started there- I cut out junk food, and later on in the year, in November, I started jogging. This turned out to be a great move, giving me something to do which has become a new hobby and helping me get healthier.

Now that I was actively trying to lose weight I decided I better keep track of how much I did weigh, and so just after Christmas, with my mum’s house to myself, I pulled out the scales and nervously stood on them.

I say nervously because the scales are glass and I feared my bulk might cause me to smash through, like the part in Jurassic Park 2when the back window of the bus starts to crack when they’re dangling off the cliff.

If that window can't hold the delightful Julianne Moore, surely the scales were about to get flattened.

Luckily it didn’t break.

Anyway, I weighed myself and I’d dropped just under 1 and a half stone since June (that’s 9.5kg).

Of course, I’d known I’d lost weight- I’d moved a few notches along my belt and my clothes weren’t as snug, but it was good to have it confirmed and figure out how much I’d lost.

Or it would’ve been, if I had any idea how units of measurement work. I know a stone is a big unit of measurement, and so I knew I’d lost a fair amount. But I decided to set a goal for myself- I wanted to lose 7kg by June 2012, whcih would bring me down to a nice round number, in terms of kg.

I had no idea whether this was an optimistic or pessimistic goal to set myself.

Turned out, I was a little pessimistic.

I weighed myself at the weekend and discovered that I’d lost 5kg, which works out to around 11.2lbs, which is most of the way to losing another stone.

As you can imagine, this made me feel pretty good.

I’m still on the heavy side, and according to that BMI graph I’m in the “obese” section. Although, I’m not completely sold on that graph- 10 stone seems very light for a 6ft man, but as I’ve said, I’m not the best when it comes to measurements.

The running is going to continue, and I am watching what I eat a lot better than I used to. I fully intend to lose more, and having discussed it with a friend who knows more about this kind of thing, I’ve set myself a target weight. She says its good to have something to aim for, and mine is fairly realistic, I think, although I still have some way to go.

When I hit that I’ll have to see if I’m happy with myself or whether I want to lose a little more.

That’s the main thing, right? Being comfortable with myself.

You’ll notice I haven’t given any actual weights during the entire post, this is because I’m still a little embarrassed by it, and also, will show just how fat I got at the nadir of my slothfulness. I share a lot on this blog, but in this respect I want to keep something private. I hope nobody minds that.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO

3 Comments on “The Incredible Shrinking Chris”

  1. Liz says:

    sounds all good Chris! Tough thing to start doing, but good progress! xLizx

  2. […] I kept watching what I ate and exercising more and by March I’d lost a further 11 pounds (see here for more […]

  3. […] its been three months since the last time I weighed myself and so this week I hopped onto the scales to see how I was […]


Leave a Reply

