Cupid Woz Ere?

The other day I was wandering back from visiting Swansea, and saw some graffiti that made me smile and definitely leans towards Swansea’s “lovely” side.

On the side of a building I saw this:

"Ask her out!"

It made me smile, because it stood out from the usual idiotic scrawling you see around town and because at heart I’m a soft git with a romantic side.

I just liked how optimistic it was, and it made me wonder about the story behind it. Was it intended for one person specifically? The work of someone trying to encourage a friend who believes in signs and things?

Or was it just a more general “go for it” kind of message.

I found the idea of random guys, and girls, this is the the 21st century after all, walking along, maybe debating whether or not to make a move on the object of their affection and seeing this. It giving them the courage and inspiration to take a chance.

Sure, some of these poor, lovestruck fools probably stumbled into painful rejection, but I like to focus more on the happy endings.

Those who gambled and won, the guys who might be walking around with big stupid grins on their face and a spring in their step.

So, I’m bestowing one of my infrequent Everyday Heroes Awards to the unknown vandal. In my opinion, better than Banksy.

Its when I finish and sit back and reread something like this that I think to myself- “Chris, you’re a big girl’s blouse.”

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO

One Comment on “Cupid Woz Ere?”

  1. […] long time readers will know that I’m a bit of a sappy romantic at times and so I have a bit of a soft spot for romantic little adverts like this […]


Leave a Reply

