Random Song: Mmm-mmm-mmm-mmm by Crash Test Dummies

If you haven’t heard this song you definitely need to check it out, it is quite possibly one of the most captivatingly bizarre pop songs ever recorded.

Crash Test Dummies were a band in the 90s and this is their only hit, but its hard to explain why this caught the public imagination so much. Other than the fact that its completely different from any other pop song I can think of.

The song is a weird little ditty with odd, bizarre lyrics about 3 kids who have issues. A boy who’s hair is turned white following a car accident, a girl with birthmarks and another boy who’s parents are strict and religious.

That’s one weird premise for a song.

Making it even more distinctive is the lead singer Brad Roberts’ vocals which are delivered in a deep, drawling style that sounds like you’re being serenaded by the Green Giant or something.

And then there’s the simple humming chorus, which is either a work of genius or a fact that Roberts was suffering from writer’s block and just hummed during practise and decided to stick with it.

It works, because its so different and catchy. I’ve had the song stuck in my head all afternoon after one listen, and I suspect I’ll wake up in the morning mmm-mmm-mmmming away.

Its a real pop oddity, one of those songs that once you’ve heard you never forget and which you’re never sure whether its actually a decent song or just dross.

Personally I lean toward decent song, I mean, sure its extremely weird and you can understand why CTD were one hit wonders, as Roberts voice works more as a curious one off, but probably gets a little dull after a while.

But I love it, the rumbling vocals, simple, memorable chorus and the weird stories.

Anyway, check out the video, its pretty weird in its own right. Also, Roberts really doesn’t look like that voice should be coming out of him.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. BETEO

One Comment on “Random Song: Mmm-mmm-mmm-mmm by Crash Test Dummies”

  1. themadgayman says:

    This is one of my favorite 90s songs. I was a child when it came out and the video took me on a journey. I think the song probably describes how hard a kid’s life is, but I’m pulling that out of my ass. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

