What A Way To Make A Living

Its been a tough week at work, I’ve been on a run of night shifts which have left me knackered, frazzled and generally fed up. This has prompted me to make the decision that Monday will see me kick start my new job resolution. I have no idea what’s on offer around here, but thinking about new career options got me thinking about what my dream jobs would be. This is by no means a definitive list, just the first six that came to mind.

1. Travel Writer

This would be brilliant, getting paid to travel around the world and experience new things and different cultures. I love travelling and would be cockahoop if I got to do more of it, and I love writing, as evidenced by the fact I’ve been blogging since 2006. It would be the marriage of two things I really like.

2. Private Eye

Okay, this job is probably quite rubbish in reality and revolves around you tapping phones, spying on cheating spouses and catching insurance scammers, but a life of watching crime shows and reading pulpy detective books has meant that it still has a kind of romantic image in my head. Essentially, I just want to be Thomas Magnum.

Hawaiian shirt, Ferrari, ‘tache- living the dream

3. Underbelly Journalist

Like Evan Wright, Louis Theroux and Hunter S Thompson I’d love to investigate and live with oddballs and countercultures. You’d get to meet all these interesting people and it might help you make sense of a messed up world. Also, I imagine it’d be quite exciting, getting into scrapes and living dangerously.

4. Film Critic

You get paid to see films and give your opinion. Who wouldn’t want to do that?

I probably wouldn’t be as good as the awesome Mark Kermode though

5. Professional Gambler

I’ve never played poker properly, but I think it’d be a cool way to make your living. You’d kind of live on the fringes of society and you get to travel around the world. Sitting round, bantering, getting the buzz of gambling and then moving on to the next place.

Plus, poker always reminds me of old westerns so I’d get to feel like a cowboy while I played.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. TTFN

Leave a Reply

