Bucket List Part 1: Globetrotting, Goalscoring, Grappling and Gambling

Topic #242- Bucket List

Its odd that you always assume a term or phrase you use is widely known. The other week I was discussing the so-so Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson comedy The Bucket List with my mum, and she asked me what a bucket list was. My little sister also said that she’d heard the term before but didn’t know what I meant, so I explained that its a list of things you want to do before you die.

Like most people, I’ve always had a mental bucket list, but decided it was about time I wrote one down, and as it was a suggested topic I figured I’d go for it.

Why have I called this part 1? Because I’ll probably come up with more experiences I want to try and things I want to do, and also, should I get my act together and complete all of the ones on this list I don’t want the Grim Reaper to misinterpret this as a sign that I’m ready to go.

The following is a list of thrills and more simple pleasures I want to experience and places I want to visit.

1. Visit all 7 continents

I’ve been to 3, leaving me just North America, South America, Antarctica and Australasia. Its a big world out there and I want to see as much of it as possible.

2. Skydive

Discussed this in an earlier post (17/11).

3. Go down in a shark cage

Always wanted to try scuba/snorkelling so I could see what life is like under the sea. I also think sharks are pretty cool but not sure I’d want to be out in the open with one, so a shark cage would do the trick.

4. Score a goal at the Liberty Stadium

Ideally this would be in a title deciding Swans match or the goal that sends Wales to the World Cup, but the chances of those are slim. But I’ll take a charity match, or a half time penalty (there has to be a keeper in the goal, otherwise what’s the point?). Or I might just smuggle a ball into a game, hop the advertising boards and bang one in past a stunned away keeper.

5. Run a marathon

Maybe my minor successes at jogging have gone to my head, but I’ve always said I’d like to do this before I’m 30, so I have over 3 years left. Best continue with the jogging then. 2013- Year of the marathon? I only hope that its not the thing I do just before I die, collapsing just after the finish line like Pheidippiedes.

6. See the pyramids

7. Experience zero gravity

As a chunky git I’d love to experience true weightlessness, maybe go up in one of those vomit-comet planes where you get a quick burst of zero G, would just be pretty awesome.

8. Get a tailor-made hat

Should that be milner-made? I’ve never had a hat that properly fits my gigantic bonce, and I’d like to change that at some point.

9. Put it “all on red” in Vegas

10. Run up the Rocky steps

Would love to go to Philadelphia and recreate the iconic moment the Stallone classic.

11. Jump off Mostar Bridge

A 60ft leap from the bridge into the river below. Saw it on one of Michael Palin’s shows and wanted to do this. Voiced this desire in Sri Lanka, and everyone reckoned I couldn’t do it, so I’d quite like to do it to prove everyone wrong. Also, it’d probably be a big rush.

12. Day of the dead in Mexico

13. Bobsleigh run

Maybe its because I saw Cool Runnings at an impressionable age, but this has always seemed like a really cool thing to try and I imagine the thrill is amazing.

Feel the rhythm, feel the ride

14. Fire a machine gun while hanging out the side of a helicopter

I can’t remember when I first saw this, or what movie it was in, but I know that since then I’ve thought it was one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen, and would love to give it a go.

15. Be in the Guiness book of records

I’m not sure what for, will have to research this.

16. Coast-to-coast US road trip

Of all the trips I spend my time daydreaming about this is one of the major onew, would love to go to the States, and a cross country road trip just seems like it’d be totally awesome, as there’s tons of cool things to see and you’d probably meet all kinds of interesting people.

17. St. Patrick’s Day in Dublin

18. See a World Cup football match live

19. Stay in the penthouse suite of the Hard Rock Hotel

The best hotel suite in the world- it has its own bowling lane! Having seen this in The OC I’ve had a massive urge to stay there.

20. Try a Man vs Food style challenge

Gluttony as competition.

21. Make a movie

I went to uni with the dream of being a director, and I’d like to give it a go sometime.

22. Try magic mushrooms

I’ve always been curious to see what this would be like and to see if they are mind expanding as many people say, also I’d be quite interested to see what I see.

23. Take part in a wrestling match

I’m not asking to be part of the main event at Wrestlemania, but I’d quite like to step into the squared circle at some point. It might be fun, and it’d definitely be an experience.

Will I be the one to end the streak at 'Mania XXVIII? Probably not.

24. Jump something in a car/on a bike

Rock it like Evel Kneivel.

25. Swim naked in the sea

I wanted to do this in Sri Lanka but on the last day, there were too many people about, which I was gutted about because I think it’d feel really good, like part of nature and feel totally free in the that moment. God that sounded a bit New-agey didn’t it.

Any thoughts? You know what to do. LLAP

Leave a Reply

