Jogging or yogging, it might be a soft “J”

Today I finished the third week of my Couch to 5k training, which I mentioned a while ago.

Week two went by pretty easy, but week 3 saw things get a little harder, here’s the plan for the sessions:

Begin with brisk 5-minute walk then two repetitions of 90 seconds of running, 90 seconds of walking, 3 minutes of running, 3 minutes of walking.

Monday was rough. I definitely need to get new trainers, my knackered Nikes clearly aren’t up to it, I got back to the house, utterly shattered and my ankles were feeling pretty bad, which I’m blaming about 50% of on the trainers.

It probably doesn’t help that they have to support my bulk all the time and aren’t used to this kind of exercise.

As a result of this I wasn’t looking forward to Wednesday’s session. It didn’t help that as I walked out the front door it was so cold I thought my nipples were going to poke through my T-shirt. But the run itself wasn’t too bad and I felt much better at the end.

This morning I got up to discover that there was a little frost on the cars, and so I had paranoid fantasies that I was going to slip during the run and break an ankle or my wrist or something. Which would be (a) painful and (b) embarrassing.

Luckily, there didn’t seem too much ice on the ground and I made the entire session slip-free.

And at the end of the run while I was tired, I was feeling pretty damn good and that I had earned the minor discomfort. My ankles weren’t the slightest bit bad and I’d caught my breath.

Its pretty cool that just 3 weeks in I’m already feeling a bit fitter and can feel my stamina and endurance increasing.

And in a massive boost to my low self-esteem I’ve had 3 different people comment that I’ve been looking better and asking if I’ve lost weight.

I might still not be entirely happy with the fat bastard who stares back at me from the mirror, but he’s filling a little less of it and at least I’m moving in the right direction.

Week 4 begins on Saturday, meaning a whole new session:

Begin with a brisk 5-minute walk then 3 minutes of running, 90 seconds walking, 5 minutes running, 2½ minutes walking, 3 minutes running, 90 seconds walking, 5 minutes running.

I know I’m going to struggle, its a big change and I probably haven’t ran 5 minutes non-stop since the first half of the 90s, when I used to play footy on the playground.

But I’m feeling confident that by the time I do it for the third time on Thursday I’ll be more comfortable with it, and feel even better.

LLAP

Leave a Reply

